Interview of François Staub

François Staub, you have directed a well-established cabinet making company in the Lausanne area for many years. Are you branching out in a new direction with this creation of a collection representing the Fine Art of Cabinet Making? 

In our 20 years of activity in custom-built joinery, we have worked for the great names in watch making and for some very specific architectural projects. We have developed our professional skills, which combine traditional techniques with technological innovations, such as computeraided drawing and digitally controlled machines. So we now have high- performing capacity and also the flexibilityof using all these techniques in different ways. Because the tools in themselves are not enough, one has to learn how to master them and then seek new destinations, other lands to explore. With the collection of “meubles à secrets” we hope to reendow our craft with the prestige which it earned over past centuries, hence the term “The Fine Art of Cabinet Making”. 

The first piece “Homage to Venice” has seen the light of day. What are the reasons behind an adventure such as this?  

I often hear people say “we can’t work like the ancient craftsmen did: we’re losing the skills; it’s too time-consuming; today, the only thing that counts is profitability!” I wanted to meet the challenge, perhaps just out of a spirit of contradiction, and to show that by giving shape to a dream, you can make it reality. The main thing is to visualize the project, to imagine it as it will be. Then all that remains is to provide its material form. It’s like a film maker, when he has envisaged the scene in every detail, with the actors and the lights, only then can he film it. 

But isn’t this all a bit unrealistic? As far as I know, there was no commission for this piece.  

If this had been a commission we wouldn’t have had the same freedom. Our job is to satisfy our clients’ wishes; in the building trade, the client is referred to as the Master of Works (in French, Maître de l’ouvrage), whereas in this case it is the piece itself who is our Master. 

How did you get the idea of a collection of unique pieces? 

I was trying to return to the notion of the creative craftsman, inspired by Renaissance times when a man would put all his skills and knowledge at the service of the piece he was working on. 

When Mr Pascal Cuénot arrived at our workshop, I thought to myself: this is who we need to launch the collection. He has trained as a cabinet maker/carver and has also worked as a piano and harp maker. I took him on after talking to him about this new and unique project, which I knew would correspond to his level of skill and experience. 

One of Pascal’s qualities is his total engagement in the project. He shaped all the parts, turned each column of the façade individually, carved the gothic tracery with perfect accuracy, sometimes with the help of a watchmaker’s magnifying glass. His hand is unwavering and he involved himself in the adventure with constancy and great modesty. I see him as the soloist in our orchestra. 

Obviously other people also worked on the piece?  

A creation like Homage to Venice is the work of a team. Alongside the sculptor, another cabinet maker, Mr. Jean-Luc Frey, was responsible for digitizing the plans and programming the digitally controlled machine. All the elements of the internal structure as well as numerous pieces of marquetry were tooled using modern techniques. 

In one way or another, all the members of our 10-strong team have contributed to the outcome of the project. The workshop and all our craftsmen represent a matrix capable of giving birth to such projects. 

What was your own role in its realization? 

My role was first and foremost to conceive the project and then to give it a shape, to draw it. The drawing is the bedrock of the construction. If there were to be an order for another version of the same piece, all the plans are ready for its execution. There are five potential versions of the original, unique piece, like so many different interpretations of the same musical score. 

I also worked closely with the polisher on the finish. Grey, for instance, is one of the most difficult shades to use on wood. 

Realizing a piece like this is a long and exacting task, I imagine? 

Its design, as well as its construction, was staged. We started with the carved façade. Our plans of the façade were based on different documents, such as photographs and old engravings, and then it took us seven months to make the different parts. While Pascal was carving, I was already designing the elements of the next stage. All in all, Homage to Venice represents three years’ work. 

There are times when, like someone walking in the desert, you do not realize that you are actually progressing. The piece imposes its own rhythm. It was only after two and a half years that we began to glimpse a date when the work might be finished. 

This first piece pays homage to Venice. Can you explain your choice?  

Like so many others, I have always been fascinated by the city and the dreams, unexpected events and power that emanate from her; there is also the aspect of her invincibility. 

The idea was not to create an accurate, historical reproduction but rather to work on perceptions and the sensual impact of the city. This Homage also embraces certain elements which struck my imagination. And so you could say that it is a personal interpretation, rooted in the cultural collective unconscious. 

I returned to Venice several times over these three years of creation to immerse myself in the beauty of the place and the fabulous inheritance left by its craftsmen. I took many photographs, recording details and atmospheres. 

The labyrinth is the motive that you have chosen as the hallmark of this collection.  

The labyrinth is a language, an ancient, mystical script present in every civilization. Its symbolism is familiar in every culture. A path that obeys its own rules, that keeps its own secrets. In an escapade like that of Homage to Venice, the reward is to be found in the combat itself, and in the perseverance that it requires. And then there is the idea of the final contentment one experiences, when the aim has been achieved. 

So the labyrinth encloses its mysteries in the same way that the cabinet hides its secret drawers?  

The drawer is an element of any piece of furniture that has always been an object of attraction and fascination. When a secret is involved for the drawer to open, there exists a sort of complicity between the object and the person who seeks to discover it. Homage to Venice is a piece of furniture and its drawers provide it with this functional aspect. It contains some very luxurious hiding places, lined in black leather and cunningly concealed, where the most precious secrets may sleep undisturbed. 

Homage to Venice reveals a most surprising image when the courtyard mechanism moves on its pivot. Who is this intriguing character? 

This is Bartolomeo Colleoni, one of the Venetian Condottiere during the Renaissance, a wealthy and proud warrior, who left a part of his fortune to the city of Venice on condition that a sculpture would be erected in his honour in Saint Mark’s square on his death. The sculpture was the work of Verrocchio, Leonardo da Vinci’s master, who died before it was cast. Now we can admire it on the Campo SS Giovanni e Paolo. It is one of the most beautiful equestrian statues in the world. The expression of power which emanates from the figure and his horse is very striking. That pugnacious and invincible look challenges me and I have a strong feeling of complicity with this character from another age. 

In this respect, I would like to mention a quo- tation from Paul Morand’s “Venises” on the subject of the Condottiere: “who is it that his piercing eye challenges, his contemporaries or posterity?” 

Making a modern posterlike portrait of the Condottiere’s face is another way of expressing our vision. This goes beyond the register of cabinet making, although the support is the same, to offer a more artistic approach. 

I believe that there is a replica of the facade in gold? 

When we had finished the maple façade, after seven months of meticulous carving, we decided to keep a trace of all the work. Before the complete work was assembled, we had all the components cast and then assembled a replica of the façade in bronze.  

Now the moulds are ready, if, by any chance, an enthusiastic collector wanted to order a pure gold replica of the piece. That would indeed be the ultimate fulfilment of our somewhat irrational enterprise: a Homage to Venice with the carved facade of the Ca’d’Oro on the Grand Canal, cast in pure gold. 

Tell us about the future pieces in this collection

I already have several other projects in mind. The underlying constant will be to design a piece of furniture which expresses an artistic vision. There are certain elements which will reoccur, such as the secret drawers, hidden mechanisms and pivots. But there is no question of a mere display of the technical potential of our craft. Technology has to serve theatricality. The finality is the craftsman’s primordial aim: his skills and mastery are subjected to the shapes that he creates. His role is to return life to the original substance. 

François Staub

Interview de François Staub

François Staub, vous êtes à la tête d’une entreprise d’agencement sur mesure implantée dans la région lausannoise depuis de nombreuses années, prenez-vous une nouvelle direction en créant une collection de meubles de Haute ébénisterie? 

En 38 ans d’activité dans ce domain nous avons travaillé pour les plus grandes marques horlogères et pour des architectes exigeants. Nous avons développé un savoir faire important qui allie les techniques anciennes avec les nouveautés technologiques comme le dessin assisté par ordinateur et les machines à commandes numériques. Nous avons maintenant à disposition un outil de travail très performant, mais aussi la capacité de pouvoir composer avec toutes ces techniques. Parce que l’outil seul ne suffit pas, il faut, comme un bateau, savoir le diriger et ensuite se fixer des voyages, choisir des pays à explorer. Avec la collection de meubles à secrets, nous redonnons au métier le prestige qu’il a eu pendant de nombreux siècles, d’où le terme de Haute ébénisterie. 

La première pièce Corte Nascosta est née. Qu’est-ce qui pousse à se lancer dans une telle aventure?  

J’entends souvent des gens dire: «on ne peut plus travailler comme les anciens, le métier se perd, on n’a plus le temps, seule la rentabilité compte à notre époque!» J’ai voulu relever ce défi, peut-être par esprit de contradiction, et montrer qu’en construisant son rêve, en le concevant, il est possible de le réaliser. La base est de s’efforcer de voir le projet, de l’imagi- ner tel qu’il est. Il ne reste alors plus qu’à lui donner sa forme matérielle. C’est comme un cinéaste, quand il voit précisemment la scène, avec les acteurs, la lumière, alors il peut la tourner. 

N’est ce pas un peu une folie? Je crois savoir qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une commande.  

Dans le cas d’une commande, la liberté n’aurait pas été la même. En face d’un client, l’attitude est de proposer ses services pour satisfaire au mieux les désirs de celui qu’on appelle dans la construction le Maître de l’ouvrage. Ici, c’est la pièce elle-même qui est la maîtresse. 

Comment est venue l’idée de cette collection de pièces uniques?  

Je cherchais à retourner au métier d’artisan créateur. Artisan comme à la Renaissance, où l’homme met tout son savoir faire au service de l’ouvrage qu’il façonne. 

Lorsque M. Pascal Cuénot s’est présenté à l’atelier, je me suis dit: voilà la personne qu’il faut pour lancer cette collection. Il a une solide formation d’ébéniste sculpteur et il a travaillé également comme facteur de pianos et de harpes. Je l’ai engagé après lui avoir parlé de la création d’un projet unique, un travail à la hauteur de ses compétences. 

Une des qualités de Pascal est son investissement total pour ce projet. Il a façonné toutes les pièces, tourné une à une chaque colonnette de la façade, sculpté les entrelacs gothiques avec une précision extrême, parfois sous la loupe d’horloger. Sa main est sûre et c’est avec une constance rare et une grande humilité qu’il s’est impliqué dans cette aventure. Il est comme le soliste dans l’orchestre. 

D’autres personnes ont sans doute également travaillé sur cette pièce?  

Une réalisation comme Corte Nascosta est un travail d’équipe. A côté du sculpteur, un autre ébéniste, M. Jean-Luc Frey s’est occupé aussi de numériser les plans et de programmer la machine CNC. Toutes les découpes de la structure interne ainsi que les nombreuses pièces des marqueteries ont été usinées grâce aux techniques modernes. 

D’une manière ou d’une autre, tous les membres de notre équipe de dix personnes ont contribué pour une part à l'aboutissement de cette pièce. L’atelier avec tous ses travailleurs est la matrice d’où peut naître de tels projets. 

Quel est votre rôle à vous dans cette réalisation?  

Mon rôle c’est d’abord de concevoir le projet et ensuite de le mettre en forme, de le dessiner. Le dessin est la base de la construction. Si une autre version de la même pièce nous est commandée, tous les plans sont là pour pouvoir la réaliser. La pièce unique peut se déciner en cinq exemplaires, comme autant d’interprétations de la même musique. 

J’interviens aussi de concert avec le polisseur pour le travail de finition. Le gris par exemple est une des teintes les plus difficiles à réaliser sur du bois. 

Finaliser une pièce comme celle-ci est un travail de longue haleine, j’imagine? 

La conception comme la réalisation s’est faite par étapes. Nous avons commencé par la façade sculptée. Nous avons effectué un relevé des plans de la façade d’après divers supports, photos, gravures anciennes, puis sept mois ont été nécessaires pour façonner les différentes pièces. Pendant que Pascal sculptait, je concevais les éléments de l’étape suivante. En tout, il aura fallu trois années de travail pour réaliser Corte Nascosta, soit plus de sept mille heures de travail. 

Il y a des moments oû, comme un marcheur dans un désert, on ne se rend plus compte qu’on avance. C’est la pièce qui impose son rythme. Ce n’est qu’au bout de deux ans et demi qu’il a été possible d’entrevoir une date pour la fin du travail. 

Vous rendez un hommage à Venise pour cette première pièce, pourquoi ce choix?  

Comme beaucoup, j’ai toujours été fasciné par cette ville, ce qu’elle dégage de rêve, d’inattendu et de puissance. Son côté de cité irréductible aussi. L’idée n’était pas de faire une reproduction exacte, historique, mais de travailler sur des perceptions, sur l’effet que cette ville imprime sur les sens. J’ai choisi d’intégrer dans cet Hommage certains éléments qui ont marqué mon imaginaire. C’est donc une interprétation personnelle mais qui puise sa source dans l’inconscient culturel collectif. 

Je me suis rendu plusieurs fois à Venise pendant ces trois années pour me replonger dans cette ville de beauté, témoin d’artisans fabuleux. J’ai pris beaucoup de photos de détails, d’ambiances différentes. 

Le labyrinthe est justement le motif que vous avez choisi comme logo pour cette collection.  

Le labyrinthe est un langage, une écriture ancienne, mystique, qui se retrouve dans toutes les civilisations. C’est un symbole commun à toutes les cultures. Un chemin qui répond à ses propres règles, qui recèle ses secrets. Dans une aventure comme celle de Corte Nascosta la récompense vient du combat lui-même, de la persévérence. Et puis il y a cette idée de contentement final lorsque le but est atteint. 

Le labyrinthe contient ses mystères comme le meuble ses tiroirs secrets?  

Le tiroir est un élément de mobilier qui attire et fascine toujours. Lorsqu’il y a un secret pour accéder au tiroir, une sorte de complicité s’installe entre l’objet et celui qui le découvre. Corte Nascosta est un meuble à secrets et ce sont les tiroirs qui lui assurent cet aspect fonctionnel. Elle contient des cachettes luxueuses, gainées de cuir noir, bien enfouies pour y déposer les secrets les plus chers. 

Corte Nascosta dévoile une image surprenante lorsque le mécanisme de la cour pivote. Qui est ce personnage intriguant qui apparaît alors? 

C’est un des Condottiere de Venise pendant la Renaissance, Bartolomeo Colleoni, un riche et fier guerrier qui a délégué une partie de sa fortune à Venise contre la promesse de lui faire ériger à sa mort une sculpture sur la place Saint-Marc. La sculpture a été réalisée par Verrocchio, le maître de Leonard de Vinci, qui est mort avant le coulage. On peut l’admirer finalement sur le Campo SS Giovanni e Paolo. C’est une des plus belles statues équestres au monde. L’expression de puissance qui émane de ce personnage et de son cheval est extrêmement forte. Ce regard combatif et invincible m’interpelle. Je me suis découvert une forme de connivence avec ce personnage d’un autre âge. 

A ce propos, j’ai lu une phrase de Paul Morand qui écrit dans son livre «Venises» en évoquant le Condottiere «à qui s’adresse le défi du regard perçant, à ses contemporains ou à la postérité?» Traiter le visage du Condottiere comme une affiche contemporaine est aussi une façon différente d’exprimer une vision. On dépasse le registre de l'ébénisterie, même si le support est le même, pour aborder un registre plus artistique. 

J’ai pu voir qu’il existe une réplique de la façade en or? 

Lorsque nous avons terminé la façade d’érable, après sept mois de sculpture minutieuse, nous avons décidé de garder une empreinte de ce travail. Avant de coller l’ensemble, nous avons fait mouler toutes les pièces détachées puis nous avons fait couler et assembler une réplique de cette façade en bronze. 

Maintenant, les moules sont prêts si d’aventure un collectionneur passionné commande cette pièce en or. Ce serait alors l’aboutissement de cette folle entreprise, un Hommage à Venise qui renferme la façade sculptée de la Ca’d’Oro du Grand Canal, coulée en or massif. 

Parlez-nous des prochaines pièces de la collection?  

J’ai déjà plusieurs autres projets en tête. La constante sera de créer chaque fois un meuble en exprimant une vision artistique. Certains éléments se retrouveront bien sûr, comme les tiroirs secrets, les mécanismes cachés les pivots. Mais il ne s’agit pas de faire un étalage des possibilités techniques du métier. Les techniques sont là pour servir de mise en scène. Et c’est finalement le rôle premier de l’artisan. Il met son savoir, sa maîtrise au service des formes qu’il travaille. Son rôle est de faire vibrer la matière. 

François Staub